Announcing winners of the Goodwin Writing Prizes

You have waited to learn news of the 2013  Goodwin Prizes for Excellence in Theological Writing...

More than 100 exceptional essays across 40 schools were submitted in this year's competition.  After four rounds of readings, the board of directors of Theological Horizons has awarded:

The $2,000 Goodwin Prize to Ryan Harker of Anabaptist Mennonite Biblical Seminary for his essay, "Formed to Consume: A Theological Analysis of Advertisements for Communications Technology".  His advisor on the paper, Prof. Andrew Brubacher-Kaethler, will receive an award of $500.

The $1,000 Goodwin Prize to Davey Henreckson of Princeton University for his essay, "The Political Image of Christ: Public Theology and Proleptic Ascent";

The $500 Goodwin Prize to Allison Hamm of Duke Divinity School for her essay, "The Crown of Creation: Sabbath-Keeping and Christian Worship".

Abstracts of the winning essays and profiles of the writers will appear on this website in the near future.

Congratulations to Ryan,  Davey and Allison.  Great thanks to all those who submitted papers in this year's competition.  We are greatly encouraged to see young scholars of such promise and commitment!